How do I block shared content in the iPhone Family Group?
How do I block shared content in the iPhone Family Group?
This guide explains what Family Sharing is, when it can become a problem, and how to turn it off.
What Is Family Sharing?
Apple’s Family Sharing lets you share apps, music, photos, iCloud storage, in-app purchases, and your location with your family. It also helps family members find a lost phone and allows them to receive notifications when you arrive at or leave a location.
When Can Family Sharing Become a Problem?
During conflicts in a relationship, you may no longer want to share everything with everyone, such as photos stored in your cloud.
After a breakup, an (ex-)partner can misuse Family Sharing to track you. Using the Find My app, they can monitor where you are. They can check whether you really were at home all day. They can also be notified when you get home from work.
How Do I Turn Family Sharing Off?
Apple provides instructions for several options:
- Turn off location sharing in Family Sharing
- Stop sharing iCloud usage
- Dissolve the family group
Only the person who set up the family group can dissolve it. Apple calls this person the ‘family organiser’. If you weren’t the one who set it up, you won’t be able to dissolve the group.
If you want to stop Family Sharing, you’ll need to leave the iPhone family group. Please note that the family organiser will be notified!
Guide:leaving the iPhone family group (external link).
If your (ex)-partner has told Apple that you are a child under the age of 16, this won’t work. Children are not allowed to leave family groups without authorisation. Unfortunately, you cannot just enter your real date of birth to leave the family group. You’ll need to contact Apple Support and Service: Apple Support and Service