Technische Hilfe gegen Cyberstalking
Schnell weg hier

Disabling Location Sharing on Android

What Is Location Used For?

Location information helps apps such as Google Maps determine where you are. It can also be important for searches such as “restaurants near me.” Unfortunately, location data is also used for targeted advertising. It is one of the types of data Google uses commercially.

When Does Location Sharing Become a Problem?

If you do not want to be found, you should disable location sharing. Your location history can show where you have been over the past two weeks. This can become a problem if someone can bypass your phone’s screen lock, if there are malicious apps on your phone, or if someone has access to your Google account.

Every Android phone has a Google account. It is set up when the phone is initially configured and is needed for software updates.

How Do I Turn Off Location Sharing?

See the external guide Android: Disable Location for instructions..